EU countries agree on new sanctions package against Russia

In the post shared on the official social media account of the EU term President Czechia, it was stated that the ambassadors of the member states reached a political agreement on the new sanctions against Russia.

In the post, it was stated that the sanctions are a strong response to Russian President Vladimir Putin’s illegal annexation of some regions of Ukraine, and that the 8th sanctions package will enter into force after it is approved in writing and published in the EU Official Journal.

EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, on her social media account, said, “I welcome the agreement of the member states on the 8th package of sanctions today.” shared.

Stating that they acted quickly and decisively, von der Leyen said, “We will never accept Putin’s fake referendum and any annexation in Ukraine.” used the phrase.

Von der Leyen noted that they will continue to make the Kremlin pay the price.

The EU Commission proposed the 8th package of sanctions against Russia last week, which includes trade bans and a ceiling price for Russian oil.

Within the scope of the new sanctions package, which had to be approved by 27 EU member states, some individuals and organizations would be added to the sanctions list, and some restrictions would be imposed on trade and oil imports.

The package included a ceiling price for the sale of Russian oil to third countries.

The entire content of the agreed package has not been shared yet.