US to recognize independence of Cook Islands and Niue

US to recognize independence of two island nations

US President Joe Biden has announced that his country will contribute more than $810 million to programs in Pacific Island countries.

Biden spoke at the US-Pacific Islands Countries Summit, which started yesterday and continues today in Washington.

Drawing attention to the long-standing diplomatic and defense relations between the USA and the Pacific Islands countries, Biden said, “The security of the Pacific Islands remains our priority.” said.

According to the news of AA; Biden stated that they made many joint decisions with the Pacific Islands within the scope of the summit, “Today I am announcing that we will provide more than $810 million in aid to programs to improve the lives of those living in the Pacific Islands. 330 million of this aid will go to new investments and programs related to climate change.” used the phrase.


Expressing that the USA will continue its relations with these countries in every field, Biden said, “I am happy to announce that we also recognize the sovereignty of the Cook Islands and Niue.” he said.

Representatives from the Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu are attending the summit.

In addition, Henry Puna, Secretary General of the Australia, New Zealand and Pacific Islands Forum, is attending the summit as an observer.