Statement by Finnish Prime Minister Sanna Marin on Turkey

Creation Date: September 13, 2022 15:38

After the Ukraine war, Finland and Sweden applied for membership in NATO, while Turkey lifted the veto decision after accepting all its demands. Turkey’s statement came from Finland, where the membership process continues.


Finland Prime Minister Sanna Marin He held a joint press conference with EP President Roberta Metsola.

Upon a question about their relations with Turkey, Marrin underlined that they want the approval process to proceed as quickly as possible in all NATO countries and used the following expressions;

‘We are having discussions with Turkey about the issues that they frequently bring up and we work on the ground that we have agreed on.’

Sweden and Finland, which took action after Russia’s attack on Ukraine, made their official application to NATO in May.

When asked whether Finland had received a request to deport people associated with the terrorist organization PKK, Marin said, “The judiciary decides on deportation.”


After the Ukraine war, Finland and Sweden applied for NATO membership, while Turkey decided to veto it.

World This knot, which occupied the agenda for a long time, was resolved at the NATO Summit held in Madrid, the capital of Spain.


President In the Triple Memorandum signed in the presence of Recep Tayyip Erdo─čan, Finland and Sweden, as future NATO allies, will show full solidarity and cooperation with Turkey in the fight against terrorism in all its forms and manifestations, and will give full support to Turkey against all threats to its national security, especially the PKK terrorist organization. They promised that they would support the PYD/YPG and FETO and not support them.

In the memorandum, the three countries stated that they would establish a structured joint dialogue and cooperation mechanism at all levels, including law enforcement and intelligence agencies, in order to develop cooperation on the basis of consensus in the fight against terrorism, organized crime and other common tests. They agreed to establish a Permanent Joint Mechanism with the participation of experts from the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Interior and Justice, Intelligence Services and Security Agencies.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.