Sergio Perez’s victory at the eventful Singapore Grand Prix

Race started late

The race started delayed due to heavy rain in Singapore. While the race started with a delay of 1 hour due to the continuing rain, the race, which was planned as 61 laps, was completed against the clock due to the safety vehicles.

failed to complete his 350th race

Alpine driver Fernando Alonso, who started the 350th race of his Formula 1 career in Singapore, could not complete the race due to a problem with his car. It was noted that the Spanish pilot had an engine failure.

6 names left the race

Six drivers failed to complete the Singapore Grand Prix. Guanyu Zhou, Nicholas Latifi, Alex Albon and Yuki Tsunoda were out of the race after their accident, while Fernando Alonso and Estabon could not cross the finish line due to problems with their Ocon cars.

Hamilton crashed Russell started from the pits

In Mercedes, Lewis Hamilton crashed and crashed into the barriers in the last part of the race, but was able to continue the race after no major problems arose. Hamilton pitted to replace the front wing of his accident. Teammate George Russell started the race from the pits due to a power unit change.

5 second penalty to Perez

During the race, which was held over 61 laps, some of the pilots’ cars crashed on the wet ground and were out of the race, and the safety car, which entered the track many times, prevented the distance between the pilots from opening.

Formula 1 also announced that an investigation has been launched against Perez, who was found to have overtaken the safety car in the second stop of the race.

After the investigation, it was stated that Sergio Perez violated the 10-vehicle limit 3 times and was given a 5-second penalty for this reason. Perez, who was 7.5 seconds behind Leclerc in second place, remained in first place despite the penalty he received, and his victory in the Singapore Grand Prix was finalized.

Following the Singapore Grand Prix, the top 5 places of the drivers and teams classification were as follows:


1. Max Verstappen (Netherlands): 341 points

2. Charles Leclerc (Monaco): 237

3. Sergio Perez (Mexico): 235

4. George Russell (Great Britain): 203

5. Carlos Sainz (Spain): 202


1. Red Bull: 576

2. Ferrari: 439

3. Mercedes: 373

4. McLaren: 129

5. Alpine: 125