Last minute… Putin signed for annexation


Russia President Vladimir Putin signed the federal constitutional laws on the addition of new territories to Russia and, with it, the creation of new federal districts.

According to the decision published by the Kremlin, while Putin signed separate decrees for the annexation of Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhia and Kherson regions in eastern Ukraine to Russian territory, it was emphasized that these regions have been Russian territory since the signing of the decree.

While Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree recognizing the independence of Donetsk and Luhansk in eastern Ukraine on February 24, he also ordered the Russian army “special operations” in Ukraine.

A referendum was held on September 23-27 in Zaporizhia, Kherson, as well as pro-Russian separatist Donetsk and Luhansk, where the Russian army took control of the war that has been going on for months.


According to the so-called election commissions, most of the residents voted to join Russia. Upon this, Russian leader Putin said on September 30, “I want to call out to the Kyiv administration. Those living in Zaporizhia, Kherson, Donetsk and Luhansk are now our citizens forever. We urgently call for a ceasefire in Kiev.”

The lower wing of the Russian parliament, the Duma, and its upper wing, the Federation Council, also unanimously accepted the request for the 4 regions to join Russia. With Putin’s signing of the law today, the annexation of Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhia and Kherson regions was approved.