Another country joins the Schengen area

Croatia, a member of the European Union (EU), will be included in the Schengen area as of January 1, 2023. This will increase the number of Schengen countries to 27.

Croatia has implemented the Schengen rules piecemeal since 2013, when it joined the EU. Croatia argued that joining Schengen would contribute to the country’s economy and increase its competitiveness thanks to the free, faster and cheaper circulation of goods and services.

Croatia also calculates that tourism revenues will increase as a member of Schengen. The government announced that as of January 1, 2023, the borders of the country will comply with the Schengen rules in transportation and transportation by road, rail and sea.

However, 26 March 2023 is shown for the airports to be fully ready.


Besides Croatia, the EU Commission wants Romania and Bulgaria to join Schengen, but some members block Romania and Bulgaria.

While Austria opposes the entry of both countries into Schengen on the grounds that irregular migration cannot be prevented, the Netherlands does not want only Bulgaria to join. Both countries raise concerns about corruption, border controls and the rule of law.